the pursuit of that gusto

25Jan13

We all have those ambitions, those dreams we pursue constantly. When I was 8 I dreamt I was going to be a comedian, it was silly and childish yet it was pure. Come 12 years old Areffio, was discovering technology and the full potential of the internet, I became obsessed. I wanted to be able to do all the shiny flash-related web stuff, I made an article about a web designer I interviewed for a class paper, which was eventually turned down by my group mates. They didn’t believe that web design was a real occupation. I had to interview a street vendor instead.

I had to interview a street vendor instead.

That folks, was the first time I had to compromise. I was 14, in 8th grade. It felt necessary but  regretful. It became a habit for me to settle for what I had, without pursuing what I wanted, what I deserved. After that I enrolled in a college that was 3rd on my list, took up and got a degree in a field I knew I was good at but never really liked. I settled, I compromised, I didn’t reach my full potential.

That was my main mindset, I had to make use of what I had. After graduation I had jobs that I didn’t really like, making less than my peers, turned down offers from big soul-sucking companies. My mind was conflicted that I did not know what to do with my life. Why did I do that? Why did I not sign contracts with big named “fortune 500” companies?

My uncle told me to ask myself one question everytime I commit to a career path, “Would I be happy doing this after 10 years?” and for the most part my answers were usually, “No”.

I had a rough 2010-2011 because of that, I was strict on money, been drinking every night but I was doing one thing that made me who I am today. I still had that passion for web design and development. I was doing jobs that offered little to no money, built my portfolio, stayed days locked up in my room armed only with a laptop, but I was happier than when I was going to work. I was doing what I love. It was tough though, I eventually needed money so I had to compromise again by working at a call center doing tech support for a few months. It was brutal and harsh but it built character. I was shot down and was depressed because I didn’t dream this, I was still doing web design at this time since I loved it so much. It kept me going, believing and practicing.  

I honed my web development skills in that time period and finally mustered up the courage and took a huge leap of flying out of the Philippines and coming back to The Bay Area. For the first time in my life, I stepped out of my comfort zone.

To be honest I was scared and skeptical at first but I was optimistic. I eventually landed a temporary job a month later, a Front End Web Developer doing web design for a small start up. I was ecstatic! I was doing design for big movies and tv shows on facebook. I was doing things I usually would’ve only dreamt of. I’ve ended that job now, but I have had jobs after that had me doing the same thing and I loved every minute of those jobs.

I’m still not where I want to be but as a 23 year old? I’m slowly getting there. I didn’t compromise and fought for what I loved, I fell down countless times, wanted to give up to the point my mom even told me to start flipping burgers. I took it slow, steady and eventually took that first step towards my dreams. I didn’t compromise so I’m here and love what I do.

Now, when I ask myself “Would I be happy doing this after 10 years?” my answer is “YES!”.

Never forget your passion, fight compromise, you’ll get there eventually.

No Responses Yet to “the pursuit of that gusto”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

