that little piece of nostalgia

19May10

I’m 20 years old. I grew up with a controller in my hand. Every time I had enough money growing up I’d use it all up on video games. It was a big part of my life. I didn’t grow up a nerd, I’m really social. I grew up loving stories, learning philosophies and jumping around with Mario and Yoshi. I grew up with Nintendo :D.

I was in the 5th grade, I was a kid who’s parents subscribed two years worth of Nintendo Power magazines. On one issue in 1999, I noticed a game I never dreamed of playing , a game of life. Honestly, I thought the game to be boring I mean who would want a game about farming!? There I was playing Golden Eye, Ocarina of Time and Jet Force Gemini, a farming game was never in my interest. But then again I was wrong. Nintendo Power reviews and letters gave the game high recommendations, It got me curious. One day Dad called us from the States asking what game should he bring back for us, I answered, ” Harvest Moon 64!”.  A day in September 2000 marked a time that would change my life forever.

Lets zap into the future like 10 minutes ago. I took this picture.

Sorry for the quality I took it with my phone.

Harvest Moon 64 would be a game that I would cherish all my life. I remember it having four save files and my brothers and I each having their own files. Each tried courting different girls, my first file courted Karen, DJ with Elie, JR with Maria and the last file, me again with Popuri (the last being my most successful file). We tried to each have different outcomes. The game taught me about hard work, starting from scratch and letting my imagination run wild. Picturing the kind of life I would want. I would plow the fields everyday, water my crops every day, feed the chickens everyday, then find the girl I would want and pursue her everyday. The little things in life this game has taught me was remarkable. I remember myself planting this corn seed in a pot when I was in 6th grade, I watered it everyday, I watched it grow, then some birds destroyed it. The birds destroyed it just like a hurricane in the game, almost all my crops were gone. That game turned me into an idealist, it urged me to work hard even if I had to start from scratch. My self confidence is being butchered right now, but my optimism is still intact. A game like Harvest Moon 64 has taught me the little things in life that make a difference. I believe that people go through as slump all the time, where things never go the way they want it to, but with enough practice, enough patience and enough work, we all, we all would find the light. Eventually, the game would progress smoothly with enough hard work, I got the dream house, I got the girl, I got that steady income and things would be fine. A game that teaches you life’s values comes once in a decade, I was lucky to experience it at its finest. One thing I loved about Harvest Moon 64 was that everything was really simple but it had this charisma that keeps you coming back for more. The more I played the more I learned.  I’ll always remember that intro music, that slow calming intro music that would hold a place in my heart forever, those special photographs, those seasonal events and planting that rare blue flower.

Thank you Harvest Moon for being my teacher, my friend and my inspiration.

No Responses Yet to “that little piece of nostalgia”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

